Monday, October 03, 2005

"Serenity HERE and Now"

This may not shock anyone who knows me but I have to poop. So I guess the length of this post will 100% depend on the exact moment my pants explode. Opps. There they go... I BRB... I gotta clean this up and get the Fabreeze... hold on. My sister just said and I quote "It stinks spray it or something...".

Anyway, since we're on the topic of poop, I'd like to tell you what I think is poop. People, telling you spoilers or even implying spoilers in a movie review. I just want to know if it's good or not, so I usually don't read reviews of movies until after I've seen the movie. I just want to let you all know, that if you read my "reviews" (lets be honest they're not even that...) this is a spoiler free zone, so have no fear.

So on Friday, I went on the affore mentioned date (read Puddletype for "the whole sordid story") with my sister. It was fun. We went to a mall and I bought her stuff, and then I took her to dinner. (The date was going supremely well at this point) then we went to the movie Serenity. --Naomi doesn't like Sci-fi and I could sense she wasn't enjoying the picture-- I however, really did enjoy myself.

I'm sure that you're all aware that Serenity is based on the short lived tv series Firefly. This show had the total package. The writing was original and their storytelling was fresh. There were always nice unexpected twists, as an audience member you just strapped in and went a long for the ride. The show found a balance between action scenes and scenes of emotional outpouring. It was not a mindless Science Fiction television series. The plots were tight, there wasn't waisted space, it was enjoayble in virutually everyway. All these peices fit together and what made them work so well, was the cast and characters. They all had the skills to make you laugh and cry in the same ten minute span. It was beautiful storytelling. So that's my take on the tv show. Now on to the movie right?

Serenity, is a fun movie. It has the characters (my sister just gave me a fruit roll up... I'm so stinkin' lucky) that we've all come to know and love. It also it has more money so the pretty cool fight scenes from the tv show, are now extended and beefed up by the budget. The costumes look better, the whole ship and world they live in looks fantastic. It sounds SO MUCH BETTER, the sound is the most outstanding thing in the movie. Joss Whedon (director/writer/producer) uses silence in the most effective ways. It's bizzare because it's like he uses silence to engross you further in the action. It just worked for me. I loved the music and the silence.

The movie is also 2/3 longer then an episode of the tv show. So they really had time to develop a plot and flesch out the action sequences. However, the movie is not a longer version of the tv show. They have one storyline going the whole time, and do not worry about subplots or side jokes that do not directly effect the primary plot. And this was a sort of frustration for me, because I feel like the audience missed out on the brotherhood and togetherness of the crew. The show is most fun when they're all together goffing off, and you're enjoying the oneliners because you know and love the characters. I guess I just missed the homieness of the tv show. I enjoyed the special effects, and the plot was very poignient and directly tied into the television series (so that was cool). There wasn't an atrophy as far as the final product is concerned. I just didn't like seeing the characters that I love relogated to a backgroud figure. It just made me homesick for the show. The film watching exprience was a good one (though I had to get up and use the restroom once and it kinda took me out of the movie when I got back... I can't stand leaving the movies to use the restroom, so you have to imagine it was a 'pants exploding' type situation.) it was a really well made movie. It'd be nice to see it do well financially, and possibly see another one of these monkeys sometime soon, or a revival of the tv show like they did Family Guy. Anyway, give it a shot, or if you want you and I could watch the whole dvd series (only like 14 episodes) and then we'll go see the thing together. (and I won't poop myself or make you pay for dinner so it's a win win situation.)

dre:)

3 Comments:

At 4:03 PM, Blogger manleedan said...

hello my little poopy. i just wanted to tell you that I love you and manleedan.blogspot.com is my blog. It's nothing sexy but it sure is attractive. I am extremely looking forward to seeing you in Gainesville some time and also just to be able to see Naomi would be fantastic.
Movies are a great choice to write about. I'm pretty sure that you will be famous because of this blog. People everywhere ask me "who's your favorite actor?"
Of course I tell them "Andrei Constaninescu, you would love him he plays in the future live action remake of the cartoon The Critic, Never heard of him?...... I don't care".

 
At 8:53 AM, Blogger Ryan said...

You guys are pretty funny. I'm headed to Ruston tonight...but it's just not the same without all of you there!

Ryan

 
At 10:36 AM, Blogger Nguyen said...

ok Dre,
I know we're partners in this blog-venture and all... but i have to admit that I just read this post just now (10:30AM October 11, 2005). I was rather apprehensive because I really didn’t want a spoiler... which you mentioned that you weren’t going to do in the 2nd paragraph. I decided to read the post today because I just don’t know when I’ll be able to see the movie. I’m glad you didn’t give the movie away. As you probably know, I haven’t seen but about half of an episode of Firefly. Maybe I’ll be one of those that will watch Firefly with you later. If Serenity is still showing when you come, we should go see that too.

>nguyen

 

Post a Comment

<< Home