City of God
First of all Ben James, did you see this movie? (I'd be shocked if you did and would recommend it (or possibly) I'm honored because you know my likes and dislikes so well that you know what to recommend to me.) But really I'm thinking (not because you don't know me but because I know you) that you haven't seen the movie.
Let me start off by saying I don't recommend it to anyone. Not because it wasn't good, because it was a very moving picture that told a unique story, with creativity and social impact. The good things about the movie, really the best thing about the movie, is the structure. It's like an ideal "Andrei story". (The way I WISH I could tell stories, and rarely do, but most often fail to do.) The movie begins, in the middle of the action, and you have to be given back ground info to catch you up. But (in typical Andrei fashion) you're given like 7 or 8 different threads of plot and the whole "puzzle" isn't put together until the end. (This is how I wish my stories would end up too. However, usually I flounder around for awhile, and then end the story abruptly and the listener is just confused. That's on a good day. :) So the movie is well structured, it's also really interestingly shot. The camara work and color is vivid and intense. I liked that about the movie too. Really I liked pretty much everything about the movie. I just can't in good conscience recommend it to anyone. Everything that could make a movie rated R, is in this movie. It's very strong language wise, (though it's subtitled so you can soften the words in your mind, your still taking them in) it's also extremely violent and harrowing. It's a violence that sticks with you because of the nature of the film. I feel like I need a shower now to wash the feel of the movie off of me. (Maybe it's my B.O. actually.)
So don't watch the movie (unless you really want to just remember I didn't recommend it watching it is up to you...) but if you do, lets talk about it.
thanks for your time. Dre- :)

2 Comments:
That's funny, Dre
I’m am still surprise though at the ratings. Also, being #18 on the top 250 is quite a feat. I would be interested, however, to hear more on what you thought on it.
I’m going to take this chance to request a little something in your reviews… Just because I feel that you’re hold so much back; it’s not doing you justice. I would like to comtinue seeing a “non-spoiling” post by Dre… then a real “warning-this-spoils-it-all” comment under that post. In that comment you can spill it all... or at least as much as you care to. I don’t think people would object to that, eh? This way we can choose to be spoiled by Dre if we want.
For this particular movie, I don’t think I will ever watch it. I can just go read about it from other review sites but why would I when we have the Dre here. So go ahead... spoil.
>nugy
I don't mean to bog you down with requests... but mine is the only one that matters. Just joking.
I saw a movie, rather recently, and I don't know why I haven't seen it before now. I was wondering if you've seen it and, if so, i want to know what you tought about it.
The movie is "The Insider" (1999). I've heard that title many times but jsut never watched it until a couple of weeks ago.
>nugy
Post a Comment
<< Home